Posted by: Eddie deGuzman | July 27, 2010

Kata Review

It’s been quite a while since I attempted karate kata. My back has improved quite a bit so I thought I’d give it a go. Here are the links to kata Pinan 1-3.  Overall, not bad movement, but it shows that I am no longer training in karate. I am not used to karate stances anymore.  They feel long or cramped to me now after years of only aikido practice.

What I see that I like is more unified movement, better balance and more powerful stances and technique which are actually connected. I also felt that because there is less pain in my back, I was able to give a more sincere effort. After each kata I was tired, more so than the video session from before.  Of course, it may just be that I am older and in worse shape.  I sure hope not.

Pinan Shodan

Pinan Nidan

Pinan Sandan


Leave a comment

Categories