Posted by: Eddie deGuzman | October 21, 2009

Fall Changes

Last night’s workout was really good. Since the summer, there have been fewer members in class, but there was a good crowd of about 14 people so there was a lot of energy in the air. If martial arts involves any one thing, it involves repetition. It doesn’t matter what art you study or how good you are. You have to repeat movements over and over again until they become second nature. That means everyone has to practice. And for me it means I have to rediscover what someone has already tried to teach me a hundred or even a thousand times before.

A few of the points I’d like to remember from last night…

Legs, center and connection points should move in unison.

Techniques don’t have to be forced if you have proper movement, kokyu, positioning, etc. For example, it isn’t necessary to wrench uke’s neck/head/body around when executing iriminage. It can be done just as easily with a soft touch.

I need to offer my arms to be grabbed and have a lower stance.

Rise with my knees, not my hands.

Keep working on yonkyo.

Fall is here and it’s time for the colors to change as they always do, repeating the movement of the seasons. Here’s hoping that all my falling in the dojo leads to colorful changes in my aikido. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

