Posted by: Eddie deGuzman | April 8, 2014

北九州合気道 Kitakyushu Aikido

If you are looking to study aikido in Kitakyushu, Japan, here is a link to the dojo where I practice. It is the oldest aikido dojo in Kitakyushu and was founded by Kuroishi Kimio Sensei in March of 1973. Kuroishi Sensei was a live-in student, an uchi deshi, to Ueshiba Morihei, the founder of aikido. Quality being paramount, you’ll consistently train with partners as high as 7th dan. There is no better dojo in the city to study aikido that is close to aikido’s origin. Links to the dojo website and Facebook pages follow.

http://kitakyushuaikido.weebly.com
https://www.facebook.com/kksaikido

Responses

  1. Thanks for this helpful and timely recommendation. Is a letter of recommendation and/or any other formality required/recommended for one’s first visit to the dojo? Thanks.

  2. Hi Clark, I just made the dojo website so I’m really glad you found it! If you have a recommendation, that’s great. But don’t worry about it if you don’t. Usually members are introduced to the dojo by someone. Do you think you
    ll make it Friday night?

  3. Thanks, Eddie. I don’t think I can make Friday nights and am trying to determine which dojo schedule will match my own. I saw listed on the website a Saturday class in Moji, which I’m considering. I also noticed an early afternoon class in Yahata –any idea what day(s) that class meets? Thanks again!

  4. Hi Eddie,

    Thanks for the information 🙂 I may be going to Kitakyushu National College of Technology(KNCT) for my internship for 3 months. I am thinking to continue practising in Japan but is unsure of whether KNCT is near to the dojo? What are the normal practice hours/days for now and how are the fees like?

    Thanks! 🙂

  5. Hi Joy,

    I believe that college is located in Kokura-Minami-ku, south Kokura. To be honest, honbu dojo, the best of our dojo, is far away. Depending how serious you are or how much time you have, it is not impossible. Please look at this MAP to the dojo and decide if the trip is too far. When you arrive, I can take you to the dojo and introduce you and see if you like what we do. You can find me quicker on the facebook link. Thanks for inquiring.

    Eddie deGuzman

  6. Hi Eddie,

    I would really love to continue my training there. However, as stated that it will be very far away, I will have to take into consideration the curfew of my dormitory and the schedule planned for my internship there. Nevertheless, I really appreciate the information and I will contact you if I am able to make it.

    Thank you 🙂

  7. Hi Joy,

    Even if you can’t make it to my dojo, I can help you find another dojo that’s more suitable if you like. Just let me know. And have a great time in Japan!


Leave a Reply

Categories

