Posted by: Eddie deGuzman | June 7, 2009

My First Official Aikido Class

Yes, it’s official. After a month of cancellations, two ladies from one of the elementary schools I work at had their first aikido class with me last Wednesday. Considering the shape they are in, they did pretty well.  It’s going to be tricky teaching the two of them because one lady wants to learn aikido, the martial art, and the other wants to learn relaxing aikido techniques to use with first graders.  I’ve decided to start as usual, from the beginning, and perhaps later I’ll work on exercises the kids could do.

In the first class I gave a brief explanation of aikido, as I see it and we did warm-ups, tai sabaki, tenkan, shihonage and a basic rear breakfall. And that was one hour. I realized as the hour was up that it’s going to take a long time to make any progress at all. All the things I want to teach have to wait until they are able to move better.  Crawl before you walk, walk before you run.

I enjoyed teaching them(Because who doesn’t enjoy talking about aikido!) and it seems they had a good time. At any rate, it’s one more day a week that I can do aikido and that’s a plus in my book. 🙂

Responses

  1. Congrats! It sounds like you had some fun.

    “who doesn’t enjoy talking about aikido!”

    Yeah, that’s why I blog. Can’t always practice and don’t want to bore my wife silly.

    Later!
    e.

  2. It’s slow going, but it’s fun. Unfortunately I can relate with boring people silly with aikido talk. I guess I was spoiled back in the U.S. where all my friends were from the dojo.
    Cheeers,
    Eddie


Leave a Reply

Categories

