Posted by: Eddie deGuzman | January 18, 2009

Kata Enpi, Seienchin and Chinto

After aikido class Friday night, I recorded a few more karate kata.  I added the move I forgot last month in kata Enpi(Doi!).  And I added two more advanced kata I dragged kicking and screaming out of retirement, kata Seienchin and Chinto.  I noticed my stomping around sometimes shakes the camera so I’ll try to solve that next time around.  Maybe it’s just my pc,  but the video also seems to skip in a couple of places.

Enpi, Seienchin, Chinto Video

Kata Enpi

I noticed my stances are higher than they feel.  Maybe that’s age and my bad back governing my range of movement.  I also need to work on my kicks.  I’m lacking full extension and kimi.  My back stances lack definition so I’ll have to try and make them look more like back stances.  This time around I filmed from the front so the angle may be deceiving.  I’m still not comfortable in sanchindachi.  More practice, more practice.

The next two kata I only thought about the last week or so.  I practiced a couple of times before recording, but other than that, it’s been at least 12 years since I physically performed them.  I have to admit that they are much more difficult to get used to than the kata I recorded up until now, especially kata Chinto.

Kata Seienchin

My horse stances DO look bad.  There is quite an outward angle from my knees to the floor.  Sanchin stance IS bad.  I’m really going to have to work on it.  I learned it as a narrow stance, but recently I was told that that is not correct.  I haven’t broken the habit yet.  I guess that’s muscle memory for you.  The forward and back horse stances don’t look like they lock into place.  My punch to the first back corner looks way off target, not to the face and I lack kime on the backfists.  On the last turn to the front, the second cat stance/enpi, my front foot is turned at a strange angle, as if I’m setting up for the following sanchin stance.

Chinto

My kicks are NOT what they used to be. Front kick and side kick are both below par. From crane stance, my kicking leg is dropping before the kick instead of shooting out from behind the knee and my hip isn’t rotating enough. And it’s dead slow.  You can’t hear it, but it pops everytime.  Just before the first crescent kick, my front foot moves out of position before the pivot.  I didn’t notice much of a gather for the double cross  lower blocks to rear and front.  After the front kick to the front, my front stance was very narrow.  For the first overhead double open hand blocks, my arms didn’t extend while raising them up, but the block seemed very quick.  In contrast, the second one had nice extension, but was slower.  In the transition between the two double upper/lower block, my hand opens unnecessarily.  I’m still lifting the front of my foot, but I still haven’t decided if that is such a bad thing.  The crane stances with upper and lower blocks are tough for me, especially the last 270 degree pivot.  If you turn the volume up, you can hear the ball of my foot squeak through the turn.

Overall, it’s dreadfully apparent that I’m NOT used to karate stances anymore and my kicks have lost speed, power and range of motion.  On the positive side, my body seems to work more as one unit these days, thanks to aikido I’m certain, and so, many of my moves appear quick, sharp and solid.  I’m not unhappy with the results, thus far, but it’s still just experimentation at this point.  The experiment, and this blog, have inspired more critical thinking, experimentation and training.  All very good things.

Responses

  1. Thanks for the videos, I found myself struggling to execute Enpi myself and have been practicing what I “thought” were the correct moves. Fortunately I did have it right, but I like having this for reference.

  2. Hi G. Bew, you’re welcome! I don’t know about right or wrong because different styles do it different ways. For example, in my style, we jump through the back stances. I’m sure there are other differences as well. Check with your teacher or peers to be sure. Thanks for stopping by and good training to you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

